Remembering April 30th, 1975… 35 years later.

A belated post, I know… so sorry!😦 But honestly it had been so very busy last week, of course the reason being preparing for the commemoration ceremonies for 30/4! It’s true, and I wonder if anyone had noticed, but towards the end of last week, I didn’t shower for almost 3 days straight because I was out all day and kept coming home too late. Haha! But I am posting now, so I hope you’ll forgive me.🙂

Here in Toronto we held our annual commemoration for the Fall of Saigon on Sunday, May 2nd, 2010. This year marked the 35th anniversary. On April 30th, 1975, the Vietnam War ended, but for those who lost their country to communist rule, the fight never ends. After 35 long years, as a country, Vietnam has hardly taken a step forward, but is slowly deteriorating. Today we are still “fighting”… fighting for freedom, democracy, and human rights to be restored to Vietnam.

At Toronto’s commemoration, I had the honour of making a speech on behalf of DTN Phan Boi Chau. Being a part of PBC has opened my eyes and changed my life in endless ways. Finally I feel like I am taking an active role instead of a passive one. I feel that everyone in PBC brings out the best in each other. I have received nothing but love and support from my fellow members; they are my inspiration. It’s up to us, the 2nd generation, to continue the journey that our parents and grandparents began the moment they left their homeland, all in the name of freedom.

I absolutely want to take this opportunity to thank all the parents and grandparents who have endured unthinkable hardships, braved unimaginable perils, and sacrificed everything on their harrowing journeys so that we wouldn’t have to, and instead could live privileged lives.

And also want to send my love to my PBC family! Without all of you, I wouldn’t be close to capable of the things I am capable of now. Honestly, everyone’s passion, dedication, and determination never ceases to amaze me.🙂

I leave you all with a few photos of Toronto’s Commemoration of the Fall of Saigon – Black April, the 35th anniversary.

Thank you to my Papa for the photos and videos. Yay!🙂

Rest of the photos on flicker (account might expire soon, though) :

Flicker photos of 30/04/2010.

Leave a Reply

