Back after an unexpected absence

My absence was uncalled for. I didn’t know the summer term would have me so preoccupied. That, and I can be naturally quite lazy. But anyway, I’m back!

I went to Orange County in California for my cousin’s wedding during the last week of June. It was spectacular, unfortunately I had to miss the G20 protest which was on the same day as the wedding: June 26th, 2010. I stayed up to date with Toronto news while over there but I still wish I could have been in two places at one time. My friend posted a blog about his experience at the G20 protest that day, so if you’d like, you can head on over to his WordPress and read his very insightful thoughts: Que Huong Meets The Great White North. He also attended the uNAVSA conference in Washington D.C. Find him under the LINKS section to the left of my page.

PBC camping was last week — Trai An Tinh. I loved it, just completely loved it. It was the perfect weekend of bonding and appreciation (and horribly good mosquito bites). Didn’t shower while I was there, though. Haha! However, I did wash my hair in a sink, with the encouragement of our awesome VP Internal. Heehee.🙂 I hope my younger brother and little cousin who came along have been inspired to get involved now. They are both such bright young minds.

PBC will be involved in an annual charity dinner in September, as well. It is to raise money for the families of Freedom Fighters in Vietnam, who constantly face the communist government’s injustice while advocating for humans rights and democracy within the country. I’m excited for that, but I hope we won’t get seated next to the speakers again as usual.😛

My friends and I have gotten tickets to a once in a lifetime concert (well, for us, anyway)… X-JAPAN IN TORONTO!!! I freaked out after hearing about it and now we’ve got second row seats to the show on October 7th at Massey Hall. My friend woke up early to get those seats on the first day. I bow down to him, haha. Talk about a dream come true. I honestly never thought I’d get to see the grandfathers of J-rock, live on stage, ever in my lifetime.😀

After that I also hope to hear the Dalai Lama’s public talk on October 22nd at the Rogers Centre. He will be talking about “Human Approaches to World Peace” and it’s always been my dream to meet him in person. He is one truly amazing and admirable soul. If you’d like to learn more about His Holiness’ visit to Toronto, see this site:

http://www.dalailamatoronto2010.org/

Time to get a steady job because I have a feeling I’m going to be totally broke by the start of the Fall term.😦

Like my collection of JRR Tolkien novels, my list of Life Plans is ever growing. And it’s so nice to have one, too. I used to think I wanted to just settle down early after graduating, and I held a rather old-fashioned outlook on life. But after I started the list, I realized I could never go through with that because of all the things I truly want to experience and accomplish before becoming “tied down” to anything. I often find myself in conflict over the future. It really does feel like there’s so little time.

It’s fast approaching… can’t wait for SECOND YEAR!!!

I leave you with some PBC appreciation camp photos (my Papa didn’t take many). Good night!

PBC Trai An Tinh photos

Leave a Reply

