Happy Thanksgiving!

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! Hope you were all able to celebrate the weekend in a meaningful way and with loved ones. I know I did!

In my case, I am thankful for love and for life, and having many amazing people to share it with. Each and every one of them are a blessing to me!

This year I broke the usual traditions and went to attend Oktoberfest for the Thanksgiving long weekend. Actually, a group of us from PBC Toronto traveled down to the Kitchener-Waterloo region to join Hoi Nguoi Viet Kitchener-Waterloo to represent the Vietnamese-Canadian community in the Oktoberfest parade. We needed to wake up super early (by that I mean 5:30AM!), so it was an overnight trip with lots of preparing and bonding. In the morning it was freezing and we stood around amidst the line up of floats and paraders for a good while, dancing and huddling and shivering in our traditional Vietnamese clothing… which, I might add, is very thin. Then when the procession began to march, the sun came up and the rain started pouring. Luckily us girls had these awesome Vietnamese hats (nón quai thao) we could use like umbrellas, haha. Despite the cold, the rain, and the horse droppings along the 5km walk, I feel that we helped to represent the Vietnamese community well and had an awesome time doing so. And a huuuge crowd came out to watch! I’m totally in for doing this again next year. If all goes as planned, we’re going to have a FLOAT, too!

Photos can be found at the following links. Photographer: My papa!🙂

Oktoberfest 2010 – Floats & Paraders

Oktoberfest 2010 – Cong Dong Nguoi Viet Tu Do

Our success could not have happened without our many supporters who put such great effort and enthusiasm into all that they do. Thank you to everyone: the diligent organizers, our designated drivers, superb cooks, energetic participants, encouraging parents, avid supporters, among others. I am sincerely thankful to be a part of this amazing, inspiring, close and caring group of individuals.

As for the X JAPAN concert… I don’t think I’ll be blogging about that. It’s not that I have nothing to write or too much to write… I just simply can’t find the perfect words to describe it, so I’ll just conclude by saying that it was possibly the best night of my life. It’s hard to imagine how anything in my life will ever be able to live up to the hype of that one evening, hahaha.😛 Thank you to my awesome old friend who got us second row seats right in front of Pata and Heath! WE ARE X!!!

Leave a Reply

